Inventory of Marc Boussac’s studio

1918 - 1982

History / Story of an inventory

Marc Boussac
Photo Elisabeth Sundborg 1967
Biography
Bio express in english
Works selected by Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris, France, MNAM/CCI for a possible donation.

Petrified instants : 1,
Large plasters : 1, 2,
Small plasters : 1, 2, .
Works on paper : 1, 2, 3.
Saint Etienne 1970 : 1
Feminine naked figures: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6.
1940s : 1
Plaster women 1969 : 1
Sèvres orders: 1
Biblical subjects : 1
Theater of shadows : 1
Metal works : 1

Links

History / Story of an inventory

1982 - 2013




To start… it is always a little difficult… one wonders what with ! Death, and what followed…, or the awakening thirty-two years later… ; we will not talk about resurrection, or at least not yet; the night in the grave was quite long for a whole life, but only an instant for forgetful death.

When I received an e-mail from Marc Duvillier on February 24th, 2012. It read thus :

“Dear Sir,

I take the liberty to write to you, my name is Marc Duvillier.

I am the grand-son of the painter René Duvillier, who was championed in particular by art critic Charles Estienne who himself championed the work of your father, the sculptor Marc Boussac.

I had the opportunity to see some sculptures by your father during the exhibition for which I worked as scientific collaborator : Abstract Art as Adventure : Charles Estienne, Art critic in the 1950s in the Museum of Fine Arts of Brest, from July to November 2011.

It took me some time to trace you, so now I’m writing to you.

Do you ever come to Paris, or to France ?

Yours,

Marc Duvillier”


I did not imagine that the search for Marc Boussac’s buried work would lead to its coming out of its tomb-sarcophagus in rue Saint-Jacques in Paris, opposite the Saint-Jacques Institute, on November 24th and 25th.

Everything started in June 1982, when, on his death-bed, my father told me, about his work : “You’ll see what happens.” To tell the truth, nothing much happened. Thieck had said: “We have to do something, in ten years he’ll be forgotten.” And indeed he does seem forgotten… I did try to phone Bideau, but he couldn’t be reached. Too bad, “We’ll see.”

It will have taken a thirty-year wait for something to happen, for, after Marc’s e-mail, here comes another one, from A.B., the dealer’s son. He is after a Jan Krizek sculpture whose existence I was not aware of.

So the concomitance of these two e-mails persuades me to phone Jim. I tell him this story and he answers: “Your father gave me the Krizek sculpture in 1972. A few years ago I lent it to Jaouen for an exhibition in Rennes, I haven’t seen it since… Maybe it was in the Brest exhibition?” He gives me Marie-Hélène’s phone number.

Easter 2012, in Paris, meeting with Marc, Marie-Hélène and then Jim, in order to find the cellar he had given us so we could store the content of the studio back in 1982, during the Christmas rush. In 2012 it was raining and it was impossible to have access to it.

After an exchange of letters and other e-mails, we are agreed to go to this cellar in rue Saint-Jacques in November 2012, on the weekend of the 24th and 25th.

So rendezvous with Marc, Nicolas, Monique and Pascal, Marie-France will join us later.

“No, this is not the place where everything was stored, let’s go away… it was on the second underground level, not the first.” Then behind all the jumble, we slide a hand and there it was all, a huge shambles, we have to rent a van, to take everything out in thirty-year old dust. Plasters… small ones, large ones, some all white, some dirty, some broken, some carefully wrapped, or not, naked figures, abstracts, plasticized papers, the magazine “Chroniques de l’Art Vivant“ n°6, that I thought I had, where an artistic suicide had been committed, newspaper clippings in which we’ll learn what is in the biography, and so on…

It could all have stayed in that state for another thousand years, but once it had been discovered, it had to be put in yet another cellar, before a solution could be found for this inventory.

As a non-conclusive conclusion, I would like to hand over to Marc, whose e-mail dated December 25th 2013 tells us how long the way still is :

“Dear Pascal, Nicolas and Marie-France,

Pascal’s text recalls the beginning of this encounter, of this rediscovery of Marc Boussac’s work, a work which is very singular, unique in its way, with a very subtle poetry, and which testifies to a ceaseless exciting exploration of matter and shapes, and also to an astounding mastery of a whole array of different techniques, down to miniature painting.

A work which keeps astonishing us and provoking our enthusiasm.

The Brest exhibition, Abstract Art as Adventure : Charles Estienne, Art critic in the 1950s, beside having to be prepared rigorously, was important to me, of course, in regard to (and for) my grandparents who had often told me about Charles Estienne and the artists of this era, who were often marginals.

This sort of exhibition makes it possible for the works of lesser-known artists (such as Loubchansky, my grandfather, Krizek…) to be exhibited next to those of more famous ones.

And then there were those plasters by Marc Boussac, exhibited in a glass case… and they intrigued me not a little…

This exhibition has made some encounters possible, and I am quite pleased with this, for, at the end of the day, this is what an exhibition should always be about : an encounter ! (and not about stupidly hanging works onto walls).

Fate is strange, and the most intriguing is that Pascal and Monique were in Brest during the exhibition, but did not see it ! And then we nearly failed to discover what the cellar rue Saint-Jacques held in store, and nearly went away…

The web-pages and the site that Pascal is preparing will be fantastic, and we have to think about museums (or foundations, or other such places) likely to be interested in this work and ready to organize an exhibition, to publish a catalogue and to accept a donation of part of the work if you so decide.

See you very soon

Merry Christmas and happy New Year,

Yours,

Marc”

You can discover Marc Boussac’s work using the following link :

Pascal Boussac




Biography
Bio express in english
Works selected by Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris, France, MNAM/CCI for a possible donation.

Links

Petrified instants : 1,
Large plasters : 1, 2,
Small plasters : 1, 2, .
Works on paper : 1, 2, 3.
Saint Etienne 1970 : 1
Feminine naked figures: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6.
1940s : 1
Plaster women 1969 : 1
Sèvres orders: 1
Biblical subjects : 1
Theater of shadows : 1
Metal works : 1



Home

Top

contact

©Marie France Voix-Boussac photos n°1 à 104 @2013
©Marc Duvillier pour l'inventaire @2013
©Pascal & Nicolas Boussac pour la page web & photos n°105 à 230 @2013
©Nicolas Boussac for the traduction 2014

Marc Boussac

1918 - 1982

Marc Boussac
Photo Elisabeth Sundborg 1967

Histoire d'un inventaire

1982 - 2015

Biographie
Bio express in english
Préselection du Centre Georges Pompidou, MNAM/CCI en vue d'une donation.
Donation au Centre Georges Pompidou, MNAM/CCI.
Liens
Instants pétrifiés :1
Grand plâtres :1, 2.
Petits plâtres :1, 2.
Œuvres sur papier :1, 2, 3.
Saint Etienne 1970 :1
Nu Féminin :1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6.
Années 40 :1
Femmes plâtre 1969 :1
Commande de Sèvres :1
Sujets bibliques :1
Théâtre d'ombres :1
Œuvres métal :1


De commencer, il est toujours un peu difficile, on se demande bien par quoi! La mort et ce qui s'en est suivi ou bien le réveil trente deux ans après; on ne parlera pas de résurrection ou pas encore; la nuit du tombeau fut bien longue pour une vie, mais seulement un instant pour la mort oublieuse.

Lorsque je reçus un courriel de Marc Duvillier le 24 février 2012, dont voici la teneur:

“Cher Monsieur,

Je me permets de vous écrire, je m'appelle Marc Duvillier

je suis le petit-fils du peintre René Duvillier, notamment défendu par le critique d'art Charles Estienne qui a lui-même défendu l'œuvre de votre père, le sculpteur Marc Boussac.

J'ai eu l'occasion de voir des sculptures de votre père lors d'une exposition dont j'étais le collaborateur scientifique : L'Aventure de l'Art Abstrait : Charles Estienne, critique d'art des années 50, expo qui a eu lieu au Musée des Beaux-Arts de Brest de juillet à novembre 2011.

J'ai mis du temps à découvrir votre trace, alors voilà je vous écris.

Passez-vous par Paris ou en France ?

Bien à vous

Marc Duvillier“,

je n'imaginais pas que la recherche de l'œuvre enfouie de Marc Boussac sortirait de son caveau, sarcophage de la rue Saint-Jacques à Paris, en face de l'Institut Saint Jacques les 24 et 25 novembre 2012.

Tout commence en juin 1982, où sur son lit de mort mon père me dit au sujet de son œuvre: "tu verras bien ce qui se passe", à vrai dire il ne s'est pas passé grand chose; Thieck avait dit: "il faut faire quelque chose, dans dix ans il sera oublié.“ Effectivement, il m'a l'air oublié... J'avais bien essayé de téléphoner à Bideau, mais il était injoignable. Tant pis, “ On verra bien “.

Il aura fallu attendre trente ans pour qu'il se passe quelque chose, car après le courriel de Marc, en voici un autre d'A. B., le fils du marchand. Lui, il court après une sculpture de Jan Krizek, dont je ne connaissais pas l'existence.

Alors, la concomitance de ces deux courriels me décide de téléphoner à Jim, à qui je raconte cette histoire, et me répond: " Ton père m'avait donné en 1972 la sculpture de Krizek, il y a quelques années pour une exposition à Rennes je l'avais prêtée à Jaouen, je ne l'ai jamais revue depuis...Peut-être était-elle à l'exposition de Brest?". Il me donne le téléphone de Marie Hélène.

Pâques 2012, à Paris, rencontre avec Marc, Marie Hélène et ensuite Jim pour retrouver cette cave qu'il avait mis à disposition pour entreposer tout le contenu de l'atelier en 1982, dans la précipitation de Noël. Il pleuvait et impossible d'y avoir accès en 2012.

Suite à un échange de lettres et autres courriels, il est convenu d'aller dans cette cave de la rue Saint-Jacques en novembre 2012 le week-end du 24 et 25.

Rendez vous donc avec Marc, Nicolas, Monique et Pascal, Marie France nous rejoindra plus tard.
“Non ce n'est pas l'endroit où tout avait été mis, on repart.., c'était au deuxième sous-sol et non au premier". Puis derrière tout ce fatras, on glisse la main et là, tout y était, un énorme capharnaüm, il faut louer une camionnette, tout sortir dans une poussière de trente ans. Des plâtres... des petits, des grands, des tout blanc, des sales, des cassés, des bien emballés ou pas, des nus, des abstraits, des papiers plastifiés, “Chroniques de l’Art Vivant“ n°6 que je croyais avoir, où un suicide artistique avait été commis, des coupures de journaux où l'on apprendra ce que la biographie contient, etc.

Tout aurait pu rester en l'état encore mille ans, mais une fois découvert il a fallu de nouveau encaver, avant qu'une solution soit trouvée pour cet inventaire.



En forme de conclusion non définitive, j'aimerais laisser la parole à Marc dont le courriel du 25 décembre 2013 dit quel chemin il reste encore à parcourir :

"Chers Pascal, Nicolas et Marie-France,

Le texte de Pascal rappelle les débuts de cette rencontre, de cette redécouverte de l'œuvre de Marc Boussac, œuvre très singulière, unique en son genre, d'une très subtile poésie, et qui témoigne d’une exploration passionnante sans cesse de la matière et des formes, et d’une maîtrise étonnante de techniques très différentes jusque dans la miniature.

Une œuvre qui ne cesse de surprendre, de provoquer l'enthousiasme.


L'exposition de Brest : « L’Aventure de l’art abstrait : Charles Estienne, critique d’art des années 50 », en dehors du fait qu'elle devait être réalisée avec rigueur était importante à mes yeux bien sûr par rapport (et pour) mes grands parents qui m'ont souvent parlé de Charles Estienne et des artistes, souvent des marginaux, de cette période.

Ce type d’exposition permet d’exposer des artistes passionnants moins connus (comme Loubchansky, mon grand-père, Krizek…) à côté d'autres célèbres.

Et puis il y a eu ces plâtres de Marc Boussac exposés dans une vitrine… et ils m'ont bien intrigués...

Cette exposition a permis des rencontres et j'en suis bien heureux, car dans le fond c'est cela que devrait toujours provoquer une exposition : une rencontre !
(et non accrocher bêtement des œuvres sur des murs)

Le destin est étrange, et le plus intriguant est que Pascal et Monique présents à Brest durant l'exposition ne l'aient pas vu ! Nous avons failli ne pas découvrir ce que recelait la cave de la rue Saint-Jacques et repartir...

Les pages web et le site que préparent Pascal vont être formidables et il faut réfléchir à des musées (ou fondations, ou autre lieu d'exposition) susceptibles d'être intéressés par cette œuvre et d'organiser une exposition, de publier un catalogue, et d'accepter une donation d'une partie si vous le décidez,

à tout bientôt

de belles fêtes de fin d'année,

bien à vous tous,

Marc"

Vous pouvez découvrir cette œuvre à partir des liens suivants.

Pascal Boussac




Biographie de Marc Boussac
Bio express in english

Inventaire de l'atelier de Marc Boussac


Instants pétrifiés :1
Grand plâtres :1, 2.
Petits plâtres :1, 2.
Œuvres sur papier :1, 2, 3.
Saint Etienne 1970 :1
Nu Féminin :1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6.
Années 40 :1
Femmes plâtre 1969 :1
Commande de Sèvres :1
Sujets bibliques :1
Théâtre d'ombres :1
Œuvres métal :1


Accueil

Haut

contact

©Marie France Voix Boussac photos n°1 à 104 @2013
©Marc Duvillier pour l'inventaire @2013
©Pascal & Nicolas Boussac pour la page web & photos n°105 à 230 @2013
Mise à jour 31.05.2016